Parliamentary Select Committee to Determine Several Key Appointments – PM

PUTRAJAYA, July 18 (Bernama) — The parliamentary select committee on major public service appointments is to determine the key appointments to four commissions.

Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said today these are the chairmen and members of the Election Commission, Judicial Appointments Commission and Human Rights Commission (Suhakam) as well as the chief commissioner of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

Speaking to the media after chairing a meeting of the Special Cabinet Committee on Anti-Corruption, he said the meeting agreed that a format and work procedure will be established to enable the committee to appoint the candidates to the key posts.

“The government agrees that the constitution and acts mention posts to be referred to this parliamentary select committee so that fit and proper candidates are presented for these positions,” he said.


Similar Posts:

614 total views, 1 views today


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 + 20 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to top