Motion on Redelineation of Sabah Electoral Boundaries Approved by Parliament

KUALA LUMPUR, July 17 (Bernama) — The Parliament today passed the motion of the proposed redelineation of electoral boundaries in Sabah

The motion, which involves adding 13 state seats, was tabled by Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad for the second reading and was passed with 158 of the 222 MPs supporting it in block voting.

It only required a simple majority to be passed.

It was approved almost three years after the Sabah State Assembly passed an amendment bill to amend Article 14 Clause (2) of the Sabah Constitution to increase the number of state elected representatives to 73, from 60, on Oct 9, 2016.

Prior to that, The Election Commission (EC) had completed a report on the delineation exercise and submitted it to then prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak on Feb 21, 2017, but no motion was made to table it in the Dewan Rakyat when the Barisan Nasional was in power both the federal level and in Sabah (before the 14th general election in May last year)..

Dr Mahathir, when tabling the motion, said the Election Commission (EC) had recommended 13 additional state seat for Sabah, namely Bengkoka, Bandau, Pintasan, Pantai Dalit, Darau, Tanjung Keramat, Limbahau, Tulid, Telupid, Sungai Manila, Lamag, Segama and Kukusan.

He said there was also a recommendation on the name change of a parliamentary constituency, namely P. 188 Silam, to Lahad Datu, and for the state seats of N.17 Tanjong Aru to N.22 Tanjung Aru; N.50 Lahad Datu to N.62 Silam; and N.59 Tanjong Batu to N.71 Tanjung Batu.

He said the increase in state seats in Sabah would benefit the people, especially in getting more efficient and effective services from the elected representatives, as well as better living standards and stimulate development in the state.

Meanwhile, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Liew Vui Keong, when winding up the debate on the motion, said the Electoral Reforms Committee was looking into a more organised method for the nomination of candidates.

The Dewan sits again tomorrow.


Similar Posts:

464 total views, 3 views today


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 − one =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to top